Fairytales

I imagine you
a fairy tale,
all tragically broken
and incomplete,
yet able to stitch together
my own shattered pieces.
I picture you
a story’s hero,
all iron arms
and steely jaw,
yet humble
in your strength.
I envision you
a romantic,
with flowing poetry
spilling from your
gripped pen,
able to put into words
the yearning you hold
from my absence.
But I know
you are just a man,
with faults and
fears and
facades,
who can’t say
the words
or write the lines
that will bring
my imaginings
into existence.
I know my thoughts
are only fairytales
hiding in the dreams
of our togetherness.

One thought on “Fairytales

Leave a Reply

