Which Words

I wrote you a letter.
Well, actually,
I wrote you five.
How can I choose
what to say
knowing this could be
the last time?
Which words
would help you understand
these bottled emotions
that can’t help but leak,
swiftly,
from my fingertips?
Which words
would be the right ones,
the ones that would usher
in moments
of togetherness
even in great distance?
What power
do my simple fingers have
to show you how the world
pales and
darkens and
shrinks
without you in it?
Which words
would prove
that life is a phoenix,
flying out
of the charred remains
of sorrow,
when we are one?
None of my words
can make the difference,
so what is the point
in trying?

Leave a Reply

