Never Friends

Friendship would never suffice. Platonic glances
would never soothe
the dull ache
in my bones.
I could never see your face
and not want to cover your skin
with timid kisses.
There is no moment
where I could restrain my fingers
from running through your hair
or over the constellation of freckles covering your chest.
I cannot imagine a time
where I could prevent my eyes
from memorizing
the ink on your arms
or the flecks of gray
in your eyes.

No,
I could never be just your friend because my desire for you
has melded with my blood
and flows through my veins
like liquid fire.

But,
I could pretend
if that would make you see me.

Leave a Reply

