Alien

Foreign skin
clings to the alien
inhabiting my body.
It stretches
and pokes
and moves about
inside my form,
shaping its likeness
to mirror my own.
How did it find me,
snatch my fingerprints
and the untouchable pieces
that make me?
Every moment grates
like stone against skin,
like forever white noise.
I am not who I am
yet I am who you made,
who I stole
from youth
and parents
and your fingers
on my knee.
I am alien and
unknown and
strange.
I am this mystery
cloaked in
supernatural skin
that shimmers into smoke
existing only
when I’m not alone.

Leave a Reply

