Momentum

I am moving
ever forward,
ever onward.
My fingers clutch
at the past
but the rushing momentum
won’t let up,
won’t stop my feet
from mobilizing.
They race
on this path
to the future,
motivated by promises
of movement,
of change.
My toes itch
to climb mountains
and drive fast automobiles
with big motors
and sprint through
liquid moments
that collide with what’s next.
My heart is the one
that’s immobile.
Stagnant and waiting
in the past,
sitting in an unmoving pool
of hanging on
to what I know
is my future even though
it’s stuck in the past.

3 thoughts on “Momentum

Leave a Reply

