Devotion, Deconstructed

image

Photo Credit : examiner.com

I should buy a house, the
Walls a version of what the heart
Wants. Each day, I can
Paint and plant and think
Of ways to make it perfect, of
Flowers to make it beautiful. No,
It is not a reality or dreams of devotion.
It is something much greater
Than simple committment. Rather than
Love creating these wishes, being
Numb is more the choice. You see, you are my shore
In what’s left of this sea, my raft to
To cling to in the
Middle of the ocean –
But holding
On to your memory in the
Middle of the night, imagining the curve
Of your spine, transforms my heap of
Ashes into a burning phoenix of one
Thought, one desire. I’m in this position,
This endless cycle of counting
The moments of loss in an
Empty whirlwind of confusion. I need to stop this endless
Devotion to a deadly loop of repetition.

The NaPoWriMo prompt I found for today (I don’t know how this works, so I looked it up online. The first site I found had this prompt, and I thought it was interesting. Basically, the last word in each one of my lines is a word in Robert Frost poem, Devotion. You can read Frost’s poem by reading my last words.The original is written below.

Devotion by Robert Frost

The heart can think of no devotion
Greater than being shore to the ocean –
Holding the curve of one position,
Counting an endless repetition.

Leave a Reply

