Notes

image

Photo Credit : jonathansigmun.com

I’m learning
to play guitar
from a video game.
My fingers hurt
from pressing the strings
and my wrist aches
from strumming.
And the instrument
is heavy in my hands,
on my body,
and the notes
ring out your name.
When my fingers shift,
I see yours flying
up the neck,
quick and able.
When I hit a note,
I hear your laughter
at its flawed design.
I want to play a song
for you,
sing the words
that infect your body
with emotion.
You speak in music
so I must learn
your language.
I’m learning from a game
but you have always
been my teacher.

Leave a Reply

