Wishes

I wish for you
because I don’t know how
to wish for anyone else.
I look at the stars
and wish for you
instead of dreaming
realistically.
But who does that?
Who fantasizes
with limits
or rules
or boundaries?
I imagine a lifetime
with your fingers
entwined with mine.
I feel your heart
in my heart,
and I know
it’s just an apparition
filled with falsity
because you are
3000 miles
and a million buried moments
away.
But I still wish.
You always come back…eventually.

Maybe I shouldn’t be so hopeful because this is the farthest you’ve gone to try to forget me. And this ache is getting stronger and I don’t know what to do. I’m apt to do something irrational.

3 thoughts on “Wishes

Leave a Reply

