Stupid

It’s so stupid,
this feeling of loss,
of missing something
that was never really there.
I miss you
deep inside my bones.
It’s no longer
just my chest that aches
at the thought of you.
My insides turn to jelly
and my heart tries to claw
its way out of my body,
anything to be closer to you.
How can I need someone
so completely
when he doesn’t seem
to need me too?
I want to tell you my day
and feel your calming fingers
ease my agony.
Instead, this cavernous emptiness
consumes the fire
that once burned
under my skin.

4 thoughts on “Stupid

Leave a Reply

