Fragments

image

Photo Credit : matthias-haker at deviantart.com

I live in
45 minute periods
and 5 minute breaks.
My nights are spent
in 1 hour increments
and 3 hour work sessions.
I sleep in 6 hour chunks,
alarms ringing,
frantic buzzing
and beeping.
Life lived in pieces.
Of moments
and time
and heartbeats captured
in parcels
and packed up
and put away
for a memory later on.
But these fragments
of your cheeks
and shards
of your broken smile
cannot piece together
a whole version.
Just like life,
you are reduced to bits
that I cannot stitch
into something not torn.
The moments drift,
the fragments sift
through 45 minute periods
and 5 minute breaks.
I eat them for lunch
and swallow them
like water.
My pieces
have always been
your pieces.

Leave a Reply

