Teach Me How to Forget

I never imagined it would ever be over. I knew we would be separated, apart, distant, but I never thought the miles would be permanent. Even as I said yes and put a ring on my finger, walked down the aisle and said I do, I always knew you would come for me…someday. I can still picture how you will look when you see me again after so many years passed in quiet longing. I can feel your fingers on my skin and your breath on my lips.

This is why I can’t let go and why I keep trying to. I keep asking myself how you got over our love so utterly, but you haven’t, have you? Maybe if I could hear the release in your voice, I could believe it’s as over as your words proclaim. But every time you scream out that you have forgotten the sound of my voice or how it feels when my nails dig into your back, I hear the flutter in your voice, the way you cling to the tenuous thread holding together the illusion that we are over.

8 thoughts on “Teach Me How to Forget

    • You know, I was lying in bed a little over a week ago and thought of the title. It was past midnight but I woke up enough to save it in my drafts. Until today, my inspiration was at an all time low. I was sitting in my car at the DMV and suddenly this came out. I’m glad you liked it. πŸ™‚

      Like

      • That’s the way things happen, especially when it comes to writing. I’m glad you got the chance to save it and use it. I hope it helps you regain your inspiration. I have those problems a lot too with the lows. Have a wonderful night!

        Like

  1. In Sliding Doors she said it is over when you stop reading their horoscope. I like to think that when I forget I haven’t written to her on her birthday or Christmas or some imaginary anniversary maybe that is it…but then I know I never want to forget completely. Can we have both? Peace and the memories?

    Like

    • I like that dream…peace and memories. I still read his horoscope and wake up with his face burned into my mind. At this point, I’d settle for peace. πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

