Tin Cup Hearts

I keep carrying
all this heartache around
in a tin cup
and it bleeds
through my fingers,
this pain,
these fragile shards
of my truth
that flutter and flash
in a twisting spiral
of free fall.
And then I’m
on the earth,
the quaking ground
that shivers in its coat
and drags me asunder,
dirt cascading,
raining down
on that girl
lost in a desert without water,
a land without love.
In a haze
of dust-clouded self-doubt,
she tumbles
through the agony
of a lost heartbeat,
a blackened dream
tattooed to spinal cords
and lungs
and eyes that see only him.
This whirlwind
trapped in tin,
a cup shaped like a heart
that holds a hurricane of ache.

6 thoughts on “Tin Cup Hearts

    • I’m so glad you enjoyed it! I always try to capture a feeling or emotion, and it usually comes out visual. Some have said I’m too descriptive. Lol! Thank you for reading. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

