Destination

I was listening to my ipod today when some sad and sappy lost love song came floating out of the speakers. I was driving, the hot air blowing through the car windows, and I was thinking of you. I do that when I drive–something about the wind in the windows and music I can sing to as I fly past hay fields and pine trees.

I was happy for a moment, reveling in the heat and the air and the music, the pavement stretching out its fingers in anticipation of the journey. Then the song…

A mack truck came out of nowhere and smacked into me. Spinning. Twisting. Head-on collision of pain.

“And I know in my heart of hearts that I’m never gonna hold you again.”

I shuddered, breath trapped like a rock lodged in my throat, and every moment was falling through my fingers, my heart clutching to hang on to memories and finding myself holding fragments of clouds instead.

I don’t know if it’s in my heart of hearts. But I feel you in my bones. You are every piece of who I am. So I drive and imagine you somewhere, three hours ahead in a time where I am always in the past and you are always in the future. I picture you in twilight while the sun shines high over my head and I drive, pretending you are my destination.

6 thoughts on “Destination

  1. A true traveller has no destination and does not know when they will arrive… #180south

    And I tossed all the old music when she left, why didn’t all the radio stations do the same? 😉

    xo

    Like

    • I wonder if I am a true traveler since I always have the urge to go but am afraid to leave.

      Radio has a tendency to make me crazy the way it can send me reeling back in time with one line from one song.

      Glad to hear from you. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

