We Are

image

Photo Credit: aheartnote.com

If we are what we don’t throw away,
then I am boxes of old bills
and shelves of dusty but loved novels.
I am high school yearbooks
and inherited china plates,
jars of colorful beads
and ancient photo albums
with yellowed pages.
If we are what we don’t throw away,
then I am made
from pieces of you
and him
and all those in between.
My skin is stitched
from words you spoke
and songs you played.
Your blood pumps
through my veins
while my letters float through yours.
You can’t throw me away
any more than I can delete your image
from my brain.
We are built,
bone and muscle,
from the things we can’t throw away.
I am you
and you are me.
We made each other,
shaping our hearts
with our own four hands.
I keep you tied to my heart.
I am those boxes of trinkets
but I am also everything I am
because you are in every piece of me.

Leave a Reply

