Forward

I keep waiting for you
to breach the surface,
take a deep breath,
and speak.
You hit me,
knock me to the floor,
your face shimmering
in the dark.
I had no idea
your maximum impact
would burn me into ashes.
And you are the one underwater
so why do I feel like I’m drowning?
Your truth only comes
in flashes.
It evacuates
fantasies
held up with dust.
I live inside
shadows on the wall
behind ghostly traces
of your memory
imprinted on my skin,
painted in the colors
of the past.
I want to go back,
tell myself to turn around
and memorize each
particle of
your face.
Turn around
instead of
moving forward
because you will
always be
my forward.

***
Twitter mash up precedes. πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Forward

Leave a Reply

