Breathless

I write breathlessly words pouring out without thought to proper punctuation or grammar or ideas really. I just go, fingers tapping out images as my brain reconfigures on the page. Here I am and I don’t know if I wrote any metaphors or used alliteration and I don’t care because the words fly like flies and see that was particularly terrible but I don’t even stop to care because my fingers move like a Formula One race car across the keys and the ideas are there and obscure or clear and sometimes really ugly but often they are beautiful and scream out in the darkness to listen because they contain stardust or magic and always love and before I know it they are out in the world, at least a dozen eyes reading and wondering about the girl behind them but she is spent and breathless and just pushes publish before her brain can tell her fingers to ignore her heart and push delete. And that’s how I write every poem.

6 thoughts on “Breathless

  1. I love this (((Awhoooo)))
    I am the same
    Well, most of the time I blame the weed for any errors or the poor form
    But I live when it just flows for me.
    Isn’t that who we really do this for. Ourselves.
    Thank you for writing this.
    Face Licks

    Like

    • Haha! Thanks! I wrote a poem before this one and when it was done, I let out this breath I didn’t know I’d been holding. I suddenly realized that’s how I always write. I’m glad you liked it! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

