Life and Paper

The air creeps
on whispered promises
and sticks in my lungs
I can feel your hands
and your eyes hungry
to touch me
to meet me
with the parts of you
that forgot the parts of me
it’s clinging to my heart
and jacketing me
in coats of sand
and sea water
your hands
and my hands
all mixed up in laughter
and heat
and there you are
in my hair
your fingers
and dark eyes
desiring to love me
in real life
instead of only
on paper
and pieces of voices
spread out across
the ocean of land
between us.

Leave a Reply

