Echoes

On cliff’s edge,
I stand eternally broken,
your silence
echoing,
echoing.
We are shattered halves
of the same heart.
Images of you
and me
and sun-stained beaches
swirl together
into memories
so immediate
that I’m a tumble
of us
and nothing else.
You said
we should
push the past
amongst the cobwebs
of loves lost
and I can’t breathe
without you.
Our love
was supposed to be
the timeless kind,
where you held me
through the nightmares
and I saved you
from yourself.
My whispers of longing
are screams,
loud eruptions of agony,
ripping through me
until I am nothing
but bone and ashes.

***

Twitter mash up precedes. 🙂

One thought on “Echoes

  1. Pingback: prima facie | Temperature's Rising

Leave a Reply

