Deflection

Deflection.
That’s a thing,
right?
Like,
when you place your feelings
about one thing
on to another.
Deflection.
That’s what I have
or do
or whatever.
All these really traumatic things
happen
or happened
or are happening
to me
and all I write about
is you.
I read that writing regularly
helps you become
more balanced,
healthy,
emotionally
and physically.
But I don’t write about
these traumas.
I write about missing a boy
who turned into a man
without me noticing.
I spin yarns
painted with the face
of a man
I hope still exists.
It’s strange
to think about
my life
but not write
a word.
Well,
maybe a few
tiny
glimpses.
My new friend
told me
I should write a memoir
of my life.
I only told her
a few things,
and,
yet,
here I am,
writing about that boy…
again…
and how all motion
stops
in your eyes.

14 thoughts on “Deflection

Leave a Reply

