Knowing

I didn’t know,
not at first.
When you smiled,
I felt nothing but
cordiality at the gesture.
We were yanked together
by mere chance
yet tethered for years
without knowing.
I didn’t know
I loved you
until your fingers
brushed my knee.
I didn’t know,
not at first,
how much that touch
would alter,
shatter,
earthquake my reality.
I didn’t know.

**********

His knees buckled
sending his pain-wracked body
tumbling to the summer grass.
He knew that I loved you,
that I needed you more
than I needed sunlight
or water
or air.
He knew that his dreams
would never be.
All he saw was betrayal
wrapped inside his friends’ faces.
You were gone
but he knew
you took my heart
with you.
He knew.

**********

Leave a Reply

