No Words

Inside of me,
burning inside of me,
I feel you in dreams,
in waking,
you on my skin,
in my hands,
you reaching out
and fingers so close
but apart,
distant,
unknown
and confusion bubbling up
into hot tears
that spring
from loss
and absence
and moments
of remembering you
loving me
instead of denying
that you love me.
Suffocating in pillowcases
filled with salt
created by nightmares
where we are one,
nightmares
because they aren’t true
or real
or possible
because we are apart,
distant,
inseparable
in this separation.

***

Why don’t these words ever capture the agony, the unending ache sitting on my chest? I write but it’s useless. No set of syllables will ever be the right ones to show you how much I miss you.

3 thoughts on “No Words

Leave a Reply

