Breathless

Always off guard,
so sudden
that it steals
my breath
in quick gulps,
swift gasps
of racing in mid sentence
where the light is green
and the tires screech
leaving thick
black gashes
on the ground
and the oxygen
dissipates
at light speed
or whatever is faster
because I heard
your voice
in my head
in between commercials
and I realized
how your name
is your identity
which is why
I could never change mine
and the air is missing
like I miss you
so I press these keys
because I can’t get you
to fill the room
with your breath.

2 thoughts on “Breathless

Leave a Reply

