Small Things

I watched you
wake up
and wished
for one more minute
of your sleeping face,
your liquid dreams
that I could feel
from across the room.
My fingers ached
to feel the flutter
of your lashes
against my skin,
your breath
against my cheek
as you whispered
your love
into my ear.
I am captured
by all of your small things
and imprisoned
by the big things
and I’m fading
from those moments
where I could
watch you sleep
and know
you would still love me
upon waking.

One thought on “Small Things

Leave a Reply

