On the Edge

image

Photo Credit: dailyb.deviantart.com

Life’s broken paths
seemed only one,
not two,
so I walked
not knowing
of the choice.
And now I find myself
attempting
to find myself
on the path
that leads to you.
Sometimes
I’m out of body,
floating in a haze
of unreality,
of mist
and dreams.
And then
I’m grounded,
a stone
damming a river,
the rapids threatening
to upend me,
send me hurtling
through space,
water,
life.
These broken paths
keep asking me
to trade,
to break away
from the river
and float,
but I keep standing
on the edge
of an extraordinary life,
on the precipice
of excellence or average,
and I keep choosing
the wrong one.

Leave a Reply

