I’ve Learned

Because of you,
I learned
to worship the sea,
to submit to its tides
pulling me asunder.

Because of you,
I learned
to not hold back,
to not allow doubt
to trap me in fear.

Because of you,
I learned
to find beauty
in the broken,
to see beyond the flaws
scarring our bodies
and hearts
and to love all the pain
that made us.

Because of you,
I’ve learned
patience,
understanding,
love.

Because of you,
I’ve learned
that life will never be
like fiction,
that life is dirty
and tragic,
and that the girl
doesn’t always
get the boy.

Because of you,
I am stronger
and fuller.

Because you loved me,
I am this version of me,
this whirling wind
of power
and perseverance
and faith
that one day
I’ll be able to show you
who I am
because of you.

7 thoughts on “I’ve Learned

Leave a Reply

