Open and Shut

I walked in
with eyes shut.
I knew nothing
of what this
would become,
only that it made
my heart move and boil,
and my skin burn
with the memory
of your touch
the moment
your fingers left me.

I kept my eyes closed
for awhile
and that was okay,
fine,
normal,
until a phone call
opened my eyes.

So I walked in
with eyes wide open.
And I knew
fleeting was this love,
were these moments
of waves
and late night kisses.
I didn’t kid myself
that it could last.

And,
yet,
it hurts now
as if I’d never
opened my eyes at all.

2 thoughts on “Open and Shut

Leave a Reply

