Fog and Carnage

And without you, I am fog and broken glass,
just bits of carnage
mixed with love that is wasted and wantonly swept out
with the sand and spiderwebs.

Without you, I am haze and uncertainty and longing
for pieces of a life I never had.
I am blue glass and shards of seashells
you placed in my palm.

I am pictures of smiles and sunshine days,
m80s and dominoes falling.
Without you, I am memory and pain and waiting
for you to turn around and remember.

****

This was written as part of the Blogging U course. The prompt was fog, the form was elegy, and the device was metaphor. It’s so nice when a prompt asks directly for your own style and content matter, but I did try two versions of this. Perhaps I’ll post the other a different day.

8 thoughts on “Fog and Carnage

  1. And without you, I am fog and broken glass,
    just bits of carnage
    mixed with love that is wasted
    and wantonly swept out
    with the sand and spiderwebs…

    I’m almost speechless…are you sure you’re not my other half?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, yes and yes. This was a brilliant piece, it was intense with its imagery and conveyed such passion. You had a wonderfully robust juxtaposition of images. This is the form of poetry I enjoy reading. Thank you for the share.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

