All the Pieces

I will always remember.
There are moments
so rooted in my being
that I would be hollow
without them.

They are what made me.

You are what made me
even though we were cheated,
even though the rug
was pulled out
and we lost despite the love.

Those minutes are sacred,
fastened to my heart
with last drives and bus rides,
parks and beaches
in the blooming dark
of a Florida sunset.

They are my only permanence
in a world filled with
unwanted realities.
And I can’t let go
because I feel like
that’s what we get in life,
just little moments of forever,
small fragments
to keep
amongst all the pieces
of loss.

9 thoughts on “All the Pieces

Leave a Reply

