Anniversary

The date is looming,
only three weeks
and it will be two years
since you decided
to sever
the only connection
we had left.
And only two months
marks the thirteenth year
I’ll have been without your touch.
These dates on a calendar
hover in the future
reminding me of the past.
What would you do
if you knew about the blog
I created in order
to fill the void
that lives next to your absence?
What would you do
if you knew the blood I spill for you,
the words I rend from my flesh?
I could send you
another letter or email
but shouldn’t I take a hint?
Shouldn’t I leave it in the past
like you said?
If it’s so easy,
why do you keep the letters?
Why do you keep coming back
just to leave again?
It seems like
the past is always
right on the horizon
like those anniversaries
we can’t seem to forget.

11 thoughts on “Anniversary

Leave a Reply

