Denizen

image

Photo Credit: pariahlycan at deviantart.com

You are trapped
inside me,
my ribcage
making a prison
around your image.
You denizen
of my head,
why do you eat away
at your only way
to survive?
How can your touch
be acid
when it once was
honey?
I feel your fingers
around the bars
begging to get out,
shaking the metal,
rattling your pen.
But I hold the key
to escape
but I am as trapped
as you are,
my love,
because I can’t stop
this reminiscing
while you can’t stop
pushing delete.

Leave a Reply

