Conflagration

The want of you
burns through me
like a lit match,
fast and
hot and
dangerous,
and I need to love like this.
The sweet and steady
doesn’t ignite a conflagration
under my skin
the way a brush of your hand can.
But the person we love
and the person who love’s us
is never the same person,
so I guess it’s not the same for you
because if it were,
if the idea of me
lit sparklers in your chest,
then maybe
I would hear your voice
instead of the vast silence
lying between us.

***

I read this list of the saddest literary quotes and this one really got me.

“The one you love and the one who loves you are never, ever the same person.”
—Chuck Palahniuk, Invisible Monsters

2 thoughts on “Conflagration

Leave a Reply

