Want

I want to go back
to when you were mortar
and I was bricks.
You cementing my brokenness
with your words,
your quiet language
of longing,
of satisfaction
after absence.

I want to go back
to when you were rock
and I was moss
clinging to your strength.
You holding me up
when my feet dangled in midair,
when my hands
were liquid and betraying.

I want to go back
to when you were sand
and I was waves
washing against your shore.
Fleeting and free,
you holding my hand
and the belonging I had
on those beaches,
in that midnight-dark room
where kisses meant
everything we didn’t say.

I want to go back.

3 thoughts on “Want

  1. You know me, and you know that I love free verse as much as I love different forms of poetry, but I am really, really liking this transition that I’m seeing in your work. It seems counterintuitive at first, but allowing a little structure to exist in one’s work can offer avenues previously unseen. Keep up the great work! It’s beautiful, Patience 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

