The In Betweens

It smells like summer outside,
that warm scent of nature
mixed with the coolness
of the late-setting sun.
It’s now,
in between day and night,
when you are closer than ever,
when I can hear your laughter
echoing back to me
through forests and hills,
settling in my ears
and forcing goosebumps
up my arms.
It’s at these times
between winter and spring,
between spring and summer,
where I feel you more.
We’ve always inhabited
these in between places,
these half moments
and partway memories.
Ours has never been
one to be whole
and tired out.
Ours was always
ephemeral,
fleeting,
scarce,
these minutes
where you loved me,
where the world
was just the backdrop
and we were our own stars
bouncing away
from the golden horizon.
It’s now
when I realize
the loss of those seconds
that could have quadrupled
into infinities
where the in betweens
were all
and the stars
never burned out.

~Patience~

Facebook
Twitter

5 thoughts on “The In Betweens

  1. I love this poem so much. I love the little sensory details and the overall idea. It makes me feel happy in a nostalgic, melancholy way. I can’t quite explain it. I’m just really glad that I could read this. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so glad you liked it! I think I’m always a bit nostalgic especially during this time of year. It’s the way it feels outside, the longer days and warm nights. I don’t know what it is either, but I’m glad you read it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

