Waking

Sunlight wrinkles the darkness
through slices in the blinds,
and your face fades
in
and
out–       light
dark                    light              dark.
I wonder how you can sleep
curled in your own embrace,
arms crossed tightly,
half on your side
and half on your back.

Blinking,
you see me stare,
unabashed,
but I don’t look away
because I want you to know
how much you are mine,
how much I would lose,

gladly,

to lie here
in the milky-gray morning
watching you unfurl
and rise into the new day.
I say goodbye
as you fumble away,
eyes wide with waking,
and I am satisfied
with this moment
even though
it’s the only one
I’ll ever get.

* * *

This was written in response to the NaPoWriMo prompt, Aubade, which is a morning poem. I don’t know if there are rules to this because I didn’t look it up and I don’t like rules anyway, so I just went with the theme.  Enjoy! 🙂

~Patience~

Facebook
Twitter

Leave a Reply

