Break the Rules

I can’t write with
rules or restrictions.
Sonnets
and haiku
and caesuras,

enjambment
and meter
and sapphics.

I need

s        p         a         c         e

to stretch my arms
and twist my words
into whatever shape
they find.

I cannot hold
to these rhyme schemes
and stanza forms
and rhythmic patterns
penned by the greats
and rehashed by the contemporaries.

And maybe that’s why
I’m not one of them
because you have
to conform
before you break free.

But my life is so jammed
with conformity
that I’m suffocating
on rules
and expectations
set down by a society
where some can bend rules
while others remain rigid.

I can’t write in verse
so I write in chaos
and hope you hear my voice.

* * *

This was written in response to the NaPoWriMo prompt, Sapphic. As you can see, I strayed from the prompt, but I hope you like it just the same. 🙂

P.S.
I’ve almost made 50 followers on Facebook. Please help me get to 50! 🙂

~Patience~

Facebook
Twitter

9 thoughts on “Break the Rules

Leave a Reply

