Traveling

image

Photo Credit: did at deviantart.com

I get so angry at myself
for missing you
when I have no right
to remember your

face,

hands,

words.

I scream out
in the silence
of the car,
only my raw voice
and the hum of tires
in my ears.

You are the architect
of this emptiness,
this monument of longing
echoing through my lungs
and this vacant car,
the only real place
where I can really feel
in the open.

Lava tears
wash my cheeks
in memories
of your fingers
and fragments
of your smile,
and I drive
towards another day
where work
makes me forget
that I’m without you
until I get back
behind the wheel
and remember
all over again.

~Patience~

Facebook
Twitter

2 thoughts on “Traveling

Leave a Reply

