I Listen

I listen,
the notes walking a pathway
towards understanding,
their melancholy chords
striking out
the beats of your heart.
This loneliness aches
through melodies
you wish were your own,
and I try to feel them
as you do,
to hold them
in my hands
so that they can find their way
to my heart,
but I see them without eyes,
with only
skin and vibration and longing.
I wonder if this is how you listen,
absorbed in your meaning
instead of the music’s.
Is this how you speak?
Notes instead of
words your lips can’t find
while I write
an invisible masterpiece
that you will never read.

~Patience~

Facebook
Twitter

2 thoughts on “I Listen

Leave a Reply

