It Goes

This slow urging,
this dark wanting
to see you,
to stand in places
where you’ve stood,
to feel the earth
as you did,
to see the world
from where you are.

It goes and does not stop.

The abating words I fumble
so that I may look like I’m gone,
they just mask my manic desire
to see your dark eyes,
to feel how you are,
to know you are with me,
here on these pages,
on these screens
where I search for your face
amongst millions
because it won’t stop going.

***

My good friend, Christopher Rupley, and I had a long discussion about the title for our latest collaboration. As we talked, this title came up. I liked it so I stuck it on this poem here. Enjoy!

~Patience

Facebook
Twitter

2 thoughts on “It Goes

  1. Hi Patience,
    I think “It Goes” is a perfect title.
    I am so sorry for your loss. It sounds fresh, raw, recent.
    They say writing is cathartic. I hope it is for you.
    I’m Janice. You liked my comment on Jason Cushman’s site today (OM), and I wanted to come over to thank you and introduce myself.
    Nice to have met you.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! As fresh as it sounds, I write about loss accumulated over a decade ago. I say accumulated because that’s what it does, so I write to let it out. I enjoyed reading your post and I’m glad to have met you. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

