Make the World Stand Still

image

Photo Credit: mindlovemisery's menagerie

“I turned silences and nights into words. What was unutterable, I wrote down. I made the whirling world stand still” -Arthur Rimbaud

In the dark,
I speak,
creating worlds
where our hands made music
so to interrupt the silence
of memory.

The words spun pieces
of my heart into yours,
and what you couldn’t say,
you played,
what I couldn’t speak,
I wrote
until the walls tumbled
at our touch.

Now I sit in empty rooms
filled with empty chairs
and I wonder how words are enough
to stop the tears falling
from your marble eyes.

***

This was written in response to Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie collage prompt. Enjoy!

~Patience

Facebook
Twitter

5 thoughts on “Make the World Stand Still

  1. Pingback: The Creative Blogger Award | A Poetic Journey

Leave a Reply

