Out of the Dark

image

Photo Credit: Tracy Ann

We flicker in the darkness, you and I,
all broken and unsure, but we still
dance beneath the flames, you and I,
all bright and never-ending.

Every poem–scratching my way out of the darkness.
Every line–a cry for requiem.
Every word–my heart splayed out, bleeding pain into the ether.

You flicker and smoke in the darkness
reminding me why I write, urging me to remember
the bright days instead of the black ones.

Every word, every line, every poem
is just me
scratching my way out of the darkness.

***

It’s Thursday again and I’m glad I wrote this yesterday since today hasn’t been the best. I submitted the last 3 lines, but I’m posting my process for you anyway. Enjoy!

~Patience

Facebook
Twitter

Leave a Reply

