We Lose

You can’t lose
what you can’t hold.
Like rain or wind,
like time and love.
But rain stops,
the drops dry up,
and it’s gone again.
And I miss it
like I miss you,
like I’ve lost our love
because I’ve lost time
to come back to it.
The winds have carried me here,
deposited me on this shore,
and vanished,
lost to me
like the years I’ve spent
without you.
Missing
like the love
wrapped in our fingers.
I can’t catch those minutes,
those drops pelting my cheeks,
but I do know I’ve lost you,
all of you
even though
I can’t lose
what I can’t touch.

~Patience

Facebook
Twitter

Leave a Reply

