Laughter in Pieces

I heard your voice today.

I heard your name
vibrate across your vocal cords
and I watched you laugh,
listened to joy
fall out of your smiling mouth.

And I am in pieces.

I want to play it
again and again,
increase your views exponentially,
because your sounds are so sweet
and so long overdue,

but I am in pieces,

playing sad songs
and watching stars
and wondering which ones
you can see too.

I heard what I am missing
by being afraid to change,
to confront that which stops me
from hearing your voice
every day
from now until eternity.

I heard you today
and now I am in pieces.

I am always in pieces.

~Patience

Facebook
Twitter

5 thoughts on “Laughter in Pieces

Leave a Reply

