We Weren’t Ready

I wasn’t ready
to love you
like I did.

Roads and
journeys and
mysteries beckoned,
and so did you.

I wasn’t ready
but I loved you anyway,
the kind of love
that built cities
in a day
and worlds in blink.

Roots grew
beneath our toes,
fresh feet standing
on old soil,
and we didn’t know
what to do
with this fragile love,
these hatchling hearts
in our hot hands.

I looked at you
and saw forever,
but I wasn’t ready
to love you,
not like I did.

We weren’t ready then,
and now?

Now we are clawing
at the air
as if it were smoke.
Now we are desperate men
on desert islands,
our hearts clutching
at the love
like the dying cling to life.

We were not ready
to love like we did,
and now we wither
in the waves of our loss.

~Patience

Facebook
Twitter

Leave a Reply

