Crackle

The flames crackle,
sparks dancing with smoke,
and I hide,
watching you move
behind the fire,
your body wavering
in the heat.
Your conversations glide
on confidence wheels,
pitching from side to side,
defying the gravity-laden dark
hovering on the outskirts of the pit,
and my desire crawls around
on the flames,
feeling the need
for those smooth moves
to find their way
to my skin.
You’re easy,
comfortable in your limbs
while I twitch,
stutter,
fold into my insecurity
in loving you.
Your smile ignites
and I am ash,
a bloom of dying without you.
I watch you
behind the fire
and can’t believe
you want to love me.

~Patience

Facebook
Twitter

Leave a Reply

