Matter and Time

image

Photo Credit: Mish00 at deviantart.com

I love you
and it doesn’t matter.

Not the air
or the earth
or the sun
will make a difference.

Not the pieces
stuck in my hands
or the pictures
grasped in yours
will change what it is.

It does not matter
that my wind is shaped
like your sail,
that my palms echo
the lines etched on yours.

It doesn’t matter
that I love you
or that you once
loved me back
because I live in towers
without doors
and you aren’t knocking anyway.

It doesn’t matter
because it can’t be changed.
The clocks tick forward
while we look back
knowing it never even mattered.

~Patience

Facebook
Twitter

7 thoughts on “Matter and Time

Leave a Reply

