What I Need

image

Photo Credit: ahermin at deviantart.com

I don’t need
flowers or
candies or
cards.
I don’t want
jewelry or
dinners or
any of those things
men give to women
to show their love.

I don’t want those things.

They make me feel
nervous and
scared and
silly, and
I don’t want to be
those things.

I need words
scratched on napkins
and illicit kisses
in dark hallways,
the party footsteps away.
I want crosswords
on Sunday morning
and books you find
at yard sales.
I need your music
while I sleep
in the next room
and your calloused hands
holding me down
as you kiss me.

I don’t want
roses or
lilies or
tulips.

I want you,
your rough mouth
consuming me,
piece by piece,
until I’m nothing
but flames fed
by your desire.

***

The prompt is about flowers. Here’s my take. I’m exhausted, so enjoy while I sleep.

~ Patience

Facebook
Twitter

6 thoughts on “What I Need

Leave a Reply

