I Will Love You

image

Photo Credit: laurapora at deviantart.com

There will never be a time
when I will not love you.

I will love you
a few hours from now
when I’m lying in bed
imagining your hand on my cheek
or your fingers in my hair.

I will love you
next week
when I’m driving to work
and that song comes on
and I’m swept back
to a faded beach picture
where we were us
instead of you and me.

I will love you
next year
and ten years
from now.

I will love you
when my hair is gray
and my eyes are broken
like my body.

I will love you
every day
from now until
the last breath
I breathe.

Alone,
every night,
in the dark,
I will love you
even if I can only
love your memory.

***

A poem for you to read. I particularly like this one. I hope you do too.

~ Patience

Facebook
Twitter

Leave a Reply

