One of Them

Photo Credit: musicandphotography at deviantart.com


I’ve always wanted to be
one of those girls,
the ones who men
write songs about.
Those mysterious girls
with raven hair and raven eyes.
The ones who walk through life
on wings instead of feet,
so beautiful,
the air even stays
just to tangle in her hair.

I’ve always wanted to be
one of those girls,
the ones with flowers on her head
or bells around her neck,
the ones who seem
to dance through rooms
on the way to an invisible party
that coalesces in her presence.

I want to have
glitter in my eyes,
starlight on my skin.
I want to be the girl
who you write songs about,
but instead
I’m just the girl
who writes poetry about you.

~Patience

Facebook
Twitter

4 thoughts on “One of Them

Leave a Reply

