You Said

Photo Credit: AliCat2011 at deviantart.com

Hold me, you said
like I carried magic thread
in my pockets
and could stitch you into new.

Keep me, you said
as if I were able to find
all your cracks
and fill them up until they healed.

Love me, you said,
so I tried.

I held you
and kept you
and loved you
until my own fissures
began to grow,
until I needed fixing
like you did,

So I asked you
to hold me,
to keep me,
to love me 

but there was no one
whole enough
to glue either of us
into one.

~ Patience 

Facebook
Twitter

2 thoughts on “You Said

Leave a Reply

