It Happened–A Conversation in My Head

“The sun will go down soon.”

“When?”

“An hour or less.”

“So that’s how much time we have?”

“Yes.”

“I don’t think it will be long enough.”

“For what?”

“To show you, to tell you-”

“Tell me what?”

“How it all felt like a dream, one where you don’t want to wake up. How you linger in me like the smell of fresh laundry, how it fades by the end of the day, how you keep fading like that clean clothes scent.”

“That is how it feels. How it felt.”

“So why didn’t you say something? You know, after?”

“I don’t want to answer that question.”

“Why not?”

“Because it rips holes in me that remain like that laundry scent you described. Except they stay, the holes , they never leave.”

“Oh.”

“That’s it?”

“It’s funny, you know, how we stick to each other even by accident. How we destroy each other without even realizing it’s happening.”

“Yeah.”

“Something should be done.”

“Yeah.”

“That’s it?”

“You make me whole and broken at the same time. How to I reconcile that?”

“By kissing me.”

“Will that really help?”

“Only if we never stop.”

“I never have.”

“Me neither.”

“The sun is about to go down.”

“I know.”

“It’s almost over. It will be like it never happened.”

“But it did.”

~Patience

Facebook

Twitter

Leave a Reply

